The second volume in his autobiographical quartet based on the seasons, Winter is an achingly beautiful collection of daily meditations and letters addressed directly to Knaugsaard's unborn daughter It is strange that you exist, but you don't know anything about what the world looks like. It's strange that there is a first time to see the sky, a first time to see the sun, a first time to feel the air against one's skin. It's strange that there is a first time to see a face, a tree, a lamp, pyjamas, a shoe. In my life that almost never happens anymore. But soon it will. In just a few months, I will see you for the first time. In Winter, we rejoin the great Karl Ove Knausgaard as the birth of his daughter draws near. In preparation for her arrival, he takes stock of the world, seeing it anew. While new life is on the horizon, the earth is also in hibernation, waiting for the warmer weather to return. In his inimitably sensitive style, he writes about everything from the moon, winter boots and messiness, to owls and birthdays. Taking nothing for granted, he fills these everyday familiar objects and ideas with new meaning. Startling, compassionate, and exquisitely beautiful, Knausgaard's writing is like nothing else. Somehow, he shows the world as it really is, at once mundane and sublime.



ISBN: 9781910701652
Series: Seasons Quartet
Audience: General
Format: Hardback
Number of Pages: 272
Publication Date: 2 Nov 2017
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publication City, Country: London, United Kingdom
Dimensions (cm): 21.4(H) x 14.1(L) x 2.5(W)
Weight (gm): 590



The second volume of his autobiographical quartet based on the seasons is even more beautiful than the first... Hauntingly translated by Ingvild Burkey, Winter will reward every curious reader. Insightful, giddy and full of energy, Knausgaard's memoir throbs with the miraculous imminence of new life and the thrill of just being. * The Economist 1843 *
When Knausgaard exposes himself in the manner of his autobiographical novel My Struggle... it's interesting enough. But he becomes more charming and persuasive when he wanders into quizzical speculation - about, say, why coffins don't have windows or how sex is like cannibalism. -- Anthony Cummins * Observer *
The author casts the world in a holy glow of surprise and compassion... A winningly interior journey into the most interior of seasons. * Starred Kirkus review *
It sounds mad, and often is, but it's also sweet, funny and brimful of wide-eyed seasonal wonder. -- Anthony Cummins * Metro *


Author Biography

Karl Ove Knausgaard (Author) Karl Ove Knausgaard's My Struggle cycle has been heralded as a masterpiece all over the world. From A Death in the Family to The End, the novels move through childhood into adulthood and, together, form an enthralling portrait of human life. Knausgaard has been awarded the Norwegian Critics Prize for Literature, the Brage Prize and the Jerusalem Prize. His work, which also includes Out of the World, A Time for Everything and the Seasons Quartet, is published in thirty-five languages. Lars Lerin (Illustrator) Lars Lerin, born in Sweden, is considered to be Scandinavia's leading watercolourist, and his art is displayed in museums worldwide, including the Sandgrund museum, which is dedicated exclusively to his work. He has also published over fifty books, including Naturl ra, winner of the 2014 August Prize. In 2016 he was honoured by the King of Sweden with the Royal Medal Litteris et Artibus.
Winter: (Seasons Quartet 2)

You may also like