1499
\
Gafferty Sprout is a Smidgen. A Smidgen looks like a human, sounds like a human, and loves chips with curry sauce like a human - if humans were three inches tall. If you took a human and shrunk it in the washing machine on a very hot spin cycle, you might get something like a Smidgen. Generations ago there were lots of them, living in a maze of tunnels beneath the human village of Dundoodle. But then something happened and they just ... disappeared. Now Gafferty, her parents and her little brothers Gobkin and Grub are the only ones left, and the tunnels are forbidden territory. And then Gafferty finds an old map. A map that shows a place deep within the maze where Smidgen tribes can go to meet. Smidgen tribes! Gafferty knows that she has to try to find them. But the tunnels are dangerous. And soon Gafferty discovers she's not the only one looking for the lost tribes, and that three inches of Smidgen hold more power than she ever imagined. The first book in a funny, magical adventures series for 7+ readers who love Terry Pratchett, Max and the Millions and The Borrowers.

 

Details

ISBN: 9781526607768
Audience: Children's (6-12)
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 208
Publication Date: 1 Apr 2021
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publication City, Country: London, United Kingdom
Dimensions (cm): 19.8(H) x 12.9(L)

 

Reviews

If you put your copy of Harry Potter and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory in the washing machine together, this would be the book that came out at the end. Don't put books in the washing machine though ... * Tom Fletcher on THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY GHOST *
Humour pervades every page, with jokes appearing at the perfect place and with fabulous timing * Bookbag on THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY GHOST *
A thoroughly satisfying and entertaining story, a mix of adventure, comedy and magic ... Delicious! * Books for Keeps on THE CHOCOLATE FACTORY GHOST *

 

Author Biography

David O'Connell is a writer and illustrator from South London. He works mostly in children's books (particularly humorous picture books and young fiction), writing for other illustrators or illustrating for other writers! He likes stories about magic and monsters, especially if they're silly monsters, and loves making comics too. His favourite sweets are fizzy cola bottles. When he was younger Seb Burnett desperately wanted to discover a Lost World, but wasn't allowed out past tea-time, so spent his evenings making up stories instead. He now lives in Bristol, England, where he runs an Animation company and works as a director, character designer and illustrator.

The Smidgens
1499

You may also like