1899
For fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The Elegance of the Hedgehog, The Girl Who Reads on the Metro is the French phenomenon by Christine Feret-Fleury ready to charm book-lovers everywhere . . . When Juliette takes the metro to her loathed office job each morning, her only escape is in books - she avidly reads on her journey and imagines what her fellow commuters' choices might say about them. But when, one day, she decides to alight the train a few stops early and meets Soliman - the mysterious owner of the most enchanting bookshop Juliette has ever seen - she is sure her life will never be the same again . . . For Soliman also believes in the power of books to change the course of a life - entrusting his passeurs with the task of giving each book to the person who needs it most - and he thinks Juliette is perfect for the job. And so, leaving her old life behind, Juliette will discover the true power a book can have . . .

 

Details

ISBN: 9781509868353
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 208
Publication Date: 1 Oct 2020
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication City, Country: London, United Kingdom
Dimensions (cm): 19.6(H) x 13.1(L) x 2.2(W)
Weight (gm): 272

 

Reviews

An enchanting story made of literary references that would convince anyone to become a reader, even the most reluctant ones * Avantages *
A delightful novel! * Madame Figaro *
A beautiful tale, wonderfully crazy, for everyone who likes to end a book with a smile on their face * Lire *
This magical book will have you under its spell in no time * Sunday Post *

 

Author Biography

Christine Feret-Fleury began her career as a publisher at Gallimard Jeunesse. In 1996, she wrote her debut children's book, Le Petit Tamour, quickly followed in 1999 by her debut novel for adults, Les vagues sont douces comme des tigres, winner of the Antigone Prize. Since then, she has gone on to write eighty further books, and counting. A prolific reader, she likes to try her hand at each of the many literary genres she enjoys. The Girl Who Reads on the Metro is her first adult novel to be translated into English.
The Girl Who Reads on the Metro
1899

You may also like