3299
\
'It does not disappoint.' - The Guardian

When Mina receives an urgent call from her best friend back in Melbourne, her world is turned upside down. Her reclusive mother, Elaine, has left the house for the first time in twelve years.

Mina drops everything to fly home, only to discover that Elaine will not talk about her sudden return to the world, nor why she's spent so much time hiding from it. Their reunion leaves Mina raking through pieces of their painful past in a bid to uncover the truth.

Both tender and fierce, heartbreaking and funny, Kokomo is a story about how secrets and love have the power to bring us together and tear us apart.

'A timely song of secrets, sex and the meaning of love' - Sydney Morning Herald

'A coming-of-age novel for the Peter Pan generation, Kokomo juggles the dissatisfactions of sex, marriage, and corporate ambition with deceptive lightness and radiant empathy. Reading this book felt like drinking with friends in a cozy pub until last call; I emerged from it shiny-faced, unbothered by the cold, wanting more.' - Laura Elizabeth Woollett, author of THE LOVE OF A BAD MAN and BEAUTIFUL REVOLUTIONARY

'This is a book that gets right into your body. It makes you laugh, makes you think, but it doesn't stop there - it plays with your heart and leaves it

 

Details

ISBN: 9780733643323
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 304
Publication Date: 28 Jul 2020
Publisher: Hachette Australia
Publication City, Country: Sydney, Australia
Dimensions (cm): 23.5(H) x 15.4(L) x 2.4(W)
Weight (gm): 390

 

Reviews

Kokomo is a beautiful, muscular work - in which Hannan refuses to flinch, to look away, to soften things. Scenes from Kokomo are so uncomfortably familiar - crackling with longing, boredom, love, hurt and hope. - Alice Bishop, author of A CONSTANT HUM

An intricate, glittering gem. One of the best debuts in years. - Mark Brandi, author of WIMMERA and THE RIP

Kokomo is unexpected and incredible storytelling. Crystalline, genuine, heartbreaking and powerful. - Sarah Schmidt, author of SEE WHAT I HAVE DONE

With its many shifts in time and focus, Kokomo is difficult to summarise but Hannan pieces together the story of these two families with clarity, grace and a handle on structure that is rare in a debut novel. This superbly written book will appeal to readers of Zadie Smith and Jennifer Down. - Books + Publishing

A remarkably accomplished debut novel - Herald Sun

Her originality took my breath away... - Newtown Review of Books

 

Author Biography

Victoria Hannan is a writer, photographer and creative director living in Melbourne. Her writing has appeared on McSweeney's Internet Tendency, 3:AM Magazine and in her monthly TinyLetter about swimming pools.

Kokomo, her first novel, was written at artist-in-residence programs in Brazil, Tasmania and Iceland. Kokomo was the 2019 winner of the Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript.
Kokomo
3299

You may also like