A brilliantly wide-ranging essay collection from the author of My Struggle, spanning literature, philosophy, art and how our daily and creative lives intertwine. In the Land of the Cyclops is Karl Ove Knausgaard's first collection of essays to be published in English, and these brilliant and wide-ranging pieces meditate on themes familiar from his groundbreaking fiction. Here, Knausgaard discusses Madame Bovary, the Northern Lights, Ingmar Bergman, and the work of an array of writers and visual artists, including Knut Hamsun, Michel Houellebecq, Anselm Kiefer and Cindy Sherman. These essays beautifully capture Knausgaard's ability to mediate between the deeply personal and the universal, demonstrating his trademark self-scrutiny and his deep longing to authentically see, understand, and experience the world.



ISBN: 9781846559419
Audience: General
Format: Hardback
Number of Pages: 320
Publication Date: 7 Jan 2021
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Publication City, Country: London, United Kingdom
Dimensions (cm): 24.3(H) x 16.8(L) x 3.3(W)
Weight (gm): 587



With this piece, Knausgaard has achieved what he elsewhere says he hopes to do as a novelist, which is to relay his experience as honestly as he can, gambling that it will somehow be universal. Here...he has diagnosed an entire modern psyche... Against which, true thinkers and writers, such as Knausgaard, are our only hope -- Steven Poole * Daily Telegraph *
Clear, elegant, dense and engrossing... Even hardened Knausgaard sceptics...should find something to admire here; and fans will be thrilled -- Lucy Atkins * Sunday Times *
Perceptive and inspiring -- Simon Humphreys * Mail on Sunday *


Author Biography

Karl Ove Knausgaard (Author) Karl Ove Knausgaard's My Struggle cycle has been heralded as a masterpiece all over the world. From A Death in the Family to The End, the novels move through childhood into adulthood and, together, form an enthralling portrait of human life. Knausgaard has been awarded the Norwegian Critics Prize for Literature, the Brage Prize and the Jerusalem Prize. His work, which also includes Out of the World, A Time for Everything and the Seasons Quartet, is published in thirty-five languages. Martin Aitken (Translator) Martin Aitken's translations of Scandinavian literature number some 30 books. He was shortlisted for the International DUBLIN Literary Award in 2017, was a finalist at the US National Book Awards in 2018 and received the PEN America Translation Prize in 2019. He lives in Denmark.
In the Land of the Cyclops: Essays

You may also like