Ed Piskor's acclaimed graphic novel series continues! Book 3 highlights Run DMC's rise to fame and introduces unassailable acts like Whodini, The Fat Boys, Slick Rick, and Doug E Fresh. The Beastie Boys become a rap group. Rick Rubin meets Russell Simmons to form Def Jam. The famous TV pilot to the dance show Graffiti Rock and the documentaries Style Wars and Breakin' and Enterin' are all highlighted in this comprehensive volume spanning 1983-1984. Ed Piskor continues to deliver the goods in this comprehensive history of hip hop.



ISBN: 9781606998489
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 114
Publication Date: 15 Sep 2016
Publisher: Fantagraphics
Publication City, Country: Seattle, United States
Dimensions (cm): 33.8(H) x 23.3(L)
Weight (gm): 534



Hip Hop Family Tree... [is] ...an exhaustive, lovingly-rendered portrayal of the movement's explosive early moments.--Nathan Reese - Complex


Author Biography

Ed Piskor (b. 1982) was born and raised in Pittsburgh, PA. He is a former student of The Kubert School and collaborated with underground comics pioneer Harvey Pekar (American Splendor) before creating the best selling series Hip Hop Family Tree and X-Men: Grand Design (the latter for Marvel Comics).
Hip Hop Family Tree Book 3: 1983-1984

You may also like