3299
\
Ava, newly arrived in Hong Kong from Dublin, spends her days teaching English to rich children.

Julian is a banker. A banker who likes to spend money on Ava, to have sex and discuss fluctuating currencies with her. But when she asks whether he loves her, he cannot say more than 'I like you a great deal'.

Enter Edith, a lawyer. Refreshingly enthusiastic and unapologetically earnest, Edith takes Ava to the theatre when Julian leaves Hong Kong for work. Quickly, she becomes something Ava looks forward to.

And then Julian writes to tell Ava he is coming back to Hong Kong... Should Ava return to the easy compatibility of her life with Julian or take a leap into the unknown with Edith?

Politically alert, heartbreakingly raw, and dryly funny, EXCITING TIMES is thrillingly attuned to the great freedoms and greater uncertainties of modern love. In stylish, uncluttered prose, Naoise Dolan dissects the personal and financial transactions that make up a life-and announces herself as a singular new voice.

 

Details

ISBN: 9781474613453
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 288
Publication Date: 16 Apr 2020
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Publication City, Country: London, United Kingdom
Dimensions (cm): 23.2(H) x 15(L) x 2.4(W)
Weight (gm): 340

 

Reviews

Droll, shrewd and unafraid - a winning debut - Hilary Mantel, author of WOLF HALL

Fiercely intelligent, brutally funny and written with such heart, Exciting Times announces an impressive new voice in literature.

Witty, compelling and with a razor-sharp social commentary. I guzzled it.

A modern love story ... astute, sardonic and highly emotionally aware ... Heralding for sure a new star in Irish writing - Irish Times

Dazzling ... So brilliantly executed ... Coming-of-age love is told in technicolour ... Banging lines follow banging lines. Your underlining pen destroys the pages ... With Exciting Times comes a rare and indeed exciting talent, a cacophony of our times, a treat for the socially distanced - Irish Independent

Lucky us ... Exciting Times will brighten lockdown ... Very funny ... Extremely sharp ... Insightful and raw - Observer

A funny, smart, contemporary love story. Perfect for fans of Sally Rooney and Emma Jane Unsworth - Sunday Times Style

A sharp, funny account of a contemporary relationship, told tenderly and with biting, bright insight.

 

Author Biography

Naoise Dolan is an Irish writer born in Dublin. She studied English Literature at Trinity College Dublin and Oxford University. EXCITING TIMES is her first novel, an excerpt from which was published in The Stinging Fly.
Exciting Times: THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER
3299

You may also like