Four women on a perilous voyage to a new world can rely only on their wits to survive... and each other.

Irreverent and streetwise prostitute Friday Woolfe is in London's notorious Newgate gaol, awaiting transportation. there, she meets three other girls: intelligent and opportunistic thief, Sarah Morgan, naive young Rachel Winter, and reliable and capable seamstress, Harriet Clarke. On the voyage to New South Wales their friendship becomes an unbreakable bond - but there are others on board who will change their lives forever. Friday makes an implacable enemy of Bella Jackson, a vicious woman whose power seems undiminished by her arrest and transportation, while Harriet is taken under the wing of an idealistic doctor, James Downey. Rachel catches the eye of a sinister passenger with more than honour on his mind, whose brutal assault leaves her life hanging in the balance. When they finally arrive on the other side of the world, they are confined to the grim and overcrowded Parramatta Female Factory. But worse is to come as the threat of separation looms. In the land behind the sun, the only thing they have is each other...



ISBN: 9780732293062
Series: The Convict Girls
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 480
Publication Date: 2 Nov 2012
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Publication City, Country: New South Wales, Australia
Dimensions (cm): 23.5(H) x 15.5(L) x 3.6(W)
Weight (gm): 556


Author Biography

Deborah Challinor is a writer and historian, and author of the bestselling CHILDREN OF WAR trilogy, as well as a string of bestselling historical novels, including FIRE, KITTY, UNION BELLE, AMBER and ISLE OF TEARS, and a number of nonfiction titles, including GREY GHOSTS.
Behind the Sun

You may also like