3499
\
This book is about ghosts and gods and flying saucers; certainty in the absence of knowledge; how the stories we tell ourselves to deal with the distance between the world as it is and as we'd like it to be can stunt us or save us. From award-winning author Sarah Krasnostein comes an exploration of the power of belief. What do we believe? Who do we believe? Why do we believe? Sarah Krasnostein spent the last four years in Australia and the US talking to some extraordinary people-people holding fast to belief, even as it rubs against the grain of more accepted realities. Some of them believe in things most people don't. Ghosts. UFOs. Heaven and the Devil. The literal creation of the universe in six days. Some of them believe in things most people would like to. Dying with autonomy. Spending half your life in prison for protecting your child and yet still believing in a just God. In this intensely personal and gorgeously written new book Krasnostein, the bestselling, multi-award-winning author of The Trauma Cleaner, talks with her trademark compassion and empathy to these believers-and finds out what happens when their beliefs crash into her own.

 

Details

ISBN: 9781922330208
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 336
Publication Date: 2 Mar 2021
Publisher: Text Publishing
Publication City, Country: Melbourne, Australia
Dimensions (cm): 23.4(H) x 15.5(L) x 2.7(W)
Weight (gm): 490

 

Reviews

The Trauma Cleaner is a disturbing and fascinating read with a heavy, beating heart at its centre...[Krasnostein] shows how a writer can empathise and engage with a subject yet still paint a realistic portrait.' * Australian on The Trauma Cleaner *
'It will always be on my Top Ten List of Most Extraordinary Non-Fiction Books Ever.' * David Kirby, Best Books of 2018, LitHub on The Trauma Cleaner *
'Krasnostein is a master storyteller of creative non-fiction and I am in awe.' * Sarah Schmidt, author of See What I Have Done, on the The Trauma Cleaner *
'Wields emotion, truth and reality with one-of-a-kind dexterity.' * Elle Australia on The Trauma Cleaner *
' [A] one-of-a-kind biography.' * Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review Summer Reading Guide on The Trauma Cleaner *
'The author has the rare combination of skills that allows her to not only build enough trust and rapport with her interview subjects that they will reveal intimate details about their lives, but to also distil a person down to their essence and put that on the page in a way that is simultaneously informative, sensitive and enthralling...the true strength of The Believer is in each compellingly rendered story...Readers who liked The Trauma Cleaner or Ramona Koval's A Letter To Layla will find much to appreciate in The Believer.' * Books+Publishing *

 

Author Biography

Sarah Krasnostein is a writer and a legal researcher with a doctorate in criminal law. She was born in America, studied in Melbourne and has lived and worked in both countries. Her first book, The Trauma Cleaner, won the Victorian Prize for Literature and the Prize for Non-Fiction in the 2018 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards as well as the Australian Book Industry Award for General Non-Fiction. Sarah lives in Melbourne and spends part of the year working in New York City.
The Believer: Encounters with Love, Death & Faith
3499

You may also like