From the winner of the Windham Campbell Prize Winner of the Melbourne Prize for Literature's Best Writing Award Shortlisted for the 2019 Stella Prize Shortlisted for the Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction in the 2019 NSW Premier's Literary Awards Longlisted for the 2019 Indie Book Awards for Non-Fiction The past shapes the present-they teach us that in schools and universities. (Shapes? Infiltrates, more like; imbues, infuses.) This past cannot be visited like an ageing aunt. It doesn't live in little zoo enclosures. Half the time, this past is nothing less than the beating heart of the present. So, how to speak of the searing, unpindownable power that the past-ours, our family's, our culture's-wields in the present? Stories are not enough, even though they are essential. And books about history, books of psychology-the best of them take us closer, but still not close enough. Maria Tumarkin's Axiomatic is a boundary-shifting fusion of thinking, storytelling, reportage and meditation. It takes as its starting point five axioms- 'Time Heals All Wounds'; 'History Repeats Itself'; 'Those Who Forget the Past are Condemned to Repeat It'; 'Give Me a Child Before the Age of Seven and I Will Show You the Woman'; and 'You Can't Enter The Same River Twice.' These beliefs-or intuitions-about the role the past plays in our present are often evoked as if they are timeless and self-evident truths. It is precisely because they are neither, yet still we are persuaded by them, that they tell us a great deal about the forces that shape our culture and the way we live.



ISBN: 9781761043581
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Number of Pages: 224
Publication Date: 4 May 2021
Publisher: Penguin Books Australia
Dimensions (cm): 20.9(H) x 13.6(L) x 1.3(W)
Weight (gm): 194


Author Biography

Born in 1974 in the former Soviet Union in a Russian Jewish family, which in 1989 immigrated to Australia, Maria has published four books, Traumascapes, Courage, Otherland and most recently Axiomatic. All have received multiple award shortlistings. In 2020 Maria was awarded the prestigious Windham Campbell Prize for non-fiction. She lives in Melbourne.

You may also like